Help Center
Click to Home
Go To Search
Charleston Police Memorial
Police Memorial.jpg
About the Memorial

The Charleston Police Memorial is dedicated to officers who have made the supreme sacrifice and lost their lives in the line of duty. Charleston Police heroes are remembered each May 15 on National Peace Officers' Memorial Day.

These officers are also honored at a ceremony at the National Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial in Washington, D.C. The Charleston Police Memorial is located at Brittlebank Park in Charleston. The park can be found on Lockwood Boulevard across from the Charleston Police Department Headquarters Building.

Officers who have lost their lives serving and protecting:

John Harlow End of Watch: 12/22/1879

John J. Bean EOW: 04/21/1899

James J. Duffy EOW: 07/16/1916

William Raymond EOW: 09/09/1919

Julian C. Bunch EOW: 05/01/1932

Snyder Lee Risher EOW: 05/06/1932

Lawrence M. Strock EOW: 10/10/1932

Purse A. Wansley EOW: 07/14/1936

Walter L. Miller EOW: 07/14/1940

William H. Wilson EOW: 12/08/1942

Keith Ellsworth EOW: 10/06/1944

Junius P. Lewis EOW: 12/06/1951

Lawrence B. Aytes EOW: 06/17/1955

James F. Tindal EOW: 06/17/1955

Jessie C. Benton EOW: 06/17/1955

Joseph Vega EOW: 10/12/1955

Wesley J. Smith EOW: 12/16/1975

Charles A. Snider EOW: 03/02/1979

Perrin R. Love II EOW: 05/21/1999

Dennis LaPage EOW: 01/19/2002

Roger Myers EOW: 04/05/2004 

To learn more please visit the Officer Down Memorial                 

Honor Guard

National Law Enforcement Memorial
(National Law Enforcement Memorial, Washington, DC)